Annual Scholarship of $30,000 Available to Ohio Medical Students Interested in Primary Care

By Dr. Samir Desai

Over the past several decades, the United States has seen a decline in manufacturing. Among the hardest hit areas are parts of the Midwest where there have been tremendous job losses. As once thriving towns and cities decayed, residents had to make hard choices about their health. "Many of my friends and family members had to choose between visiting the doctor and paying monthly bills," said Chris Yohn, a medical student at Northeast Ohio Medical University. "The people I knew while growing up valued hard work and independence, but their lives were impacted by forces beyond their control."

In economically depressed areas, it can be hard to recruit and retain primary care physicians. To remedy this situation, states have created scholarship programs to fill the need for primary care physicians in underserved areas. Are you a medical student who is open to practicing primary care in a particular state or area within a state? If so, you may be eligible for a substantial scholarship.

Medical students attending schools in Ohio, for example, are eligible to apply for the Choose Ohio First Primary Care Scholarship. Through this program, students can receive up to $120,000 over the course of their medial school education. Award winners receive an annual scholarship of $30,000.

The road to becoming a physician is difficult, but the idea that I will help people like my mom and dad is inspiring.
— Chris Yohn, NEOMED student and recipient of Choose Ohio First Primary Care Scholarship

To be eligible, you must meet the following criteria:

  • Ohio resident
  • Commitment to community service
  • Commitment to residency training in family practice, primary care internal medicine, primary care pediatrics, combined family practice and psychiatry, or combined internal medicine and pediatrics in Ohio
  • Following residency, scholarship recipients must practice full time in Ohio for 3 - 5 years
  • Recipients must accept Medicaid patients

Special consideration is given to applicants who are first-generation, low-income or disadvantaged students.

We’re thrilled that eight medical students from the Boonshoft School of Medicine were selected to receive Choose Ohio First Primary Care Scholarships. These students are committed to improving health care access for Ohioans, especially in high-need areas throughout Ohio.
— Dr. Gary LeRoy, Associate Dean for Student Affairs at Wright State University

From Fairborn Daily Herald

Medical students attending Case Western Reserve University, University of Cincinnati, Wright State University, University of Toledo, Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED), Ohio State University, and Ohio University are eligible to apply. For more information, visit the Choose Ohio First Primary Care Scholarship website.